top of page
Writer's picturebrynn zahariuk

ASL Learning Continued...

This week my goal was to try to memorize the alphabet in ASL. I was previously using "ASL Sign Language Pocket Sign" to get the basics of sign language down. My thought process was that if I wanted to start using ASL out in the world, if I at least knew the letters I could spell things out if I didn't know the word I wanted to use. However, in my searching for new resources to try out, I had an ad pop up on my social media for an app called "ASL Bloom". I downloaded it as it was like Duolingo for ASL (you can click the photo to download and try it for yourself!).


I started to use this app as soon as I found it and I love it. Their goal is to make it easy for people to learn ASL as well as accessible for people who may be low income and need this resource. Right away, I got into the lessons and learned "How are you?" "Nice to meet you" "My name is..." and other very relevant signs to use. This is one thing I have found that is different from the other apps that I was using previously. The other two apps I was using (ASL Sign Language Pocket Sign and Sign School) did have the daily lessons, however the words were often things that you wouldn't use on a daily basis (like grease and soup, for example).

Another thing I like about this app is that the lessons have a very easy to use setup. It will show you a word with a clip of how it is signed, then go on to tasks that have you match the sign with the word, finish a sentence, and constantly adding on to how to use that sign.

Third, I like that this app actually gives you information about sign language, such as that different places use different sign language (like British Sign Language, or BSL) and that even different areas have different words/tones in sign language, just like in English. I found it fascinating to learn more about the language itself and not just the signs.

As I've been learning and trying different resources, I've been finding that I like the apps better than some other resources because they really give you the opportunity to work on it from wherever you are.


I'm really excited to keep learning and trying out new resources!



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page